Pass Any Exam Online Now & Pay After Passing Exam. Contact Now
Chat with us:
GCFE Certification

A Career Guide for Digital Forensic Professionals with GCFE Certification

Mar 22, 20235 mins readAmit Masih
A Career Guide for Digital Forensic Professionals with GCFE Certification

If you're interested in pursuing a career in the digital forensic field, the GIAC GCFA certification is an excellent choice.

The GIAC GCFE certification is one of the industry's most well-known and highly regarded credentials, validating your expertise in incident response and forensic analysis.

The GIAC GCFA certification opens doors to many career paths. But what career paths can you choose with this certification?

In this blog post, we have shared some top options you can take into your accounts.

What is the GIAC Certified Forensic Examiner (GCFE) certification?

The GIAC Certified Forensic Examiner (GCFE) is a vendor-neutral certification that is administered and governed by Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC). With the GIAC Certified Forensic Examiner (GCFE) certification, you will be able to demonstrate your skills and knowledge in computer forensic analysis, focusing on collecting and analyzing data from Windows-based computing systems.

As a GCFE-certified individual, you will have the necessary knowledge, skills, and abilities to conduct typical incident investigations, including e-discovery, forensic analysis, report writing, evidence collection, browser forensics, and tracking user and application activities on Windows computers. In the GIAC GCFE exam, there are 82-115 multiple-choice questions. The GIAC GICSP certification exam is three hours long. 

In order to pass the GCFE exam, a passing score of 70% or higher is required. The GIAC GCFE is a certification designed for those with a background in information systems and security. In addition, the program is open to individuals interested in Windows forensics. This includes IT professionals, incident response teams, law enforcement officers, federal agents, attorneys, detectives, and media exploiters.

Here are the topics areas covered in the GIAC GCFE certification exam:

  • Windows forensics and data triage
  • Windows registry forensics, USB devices, shell items, email forensics, and log analysis
  • Advanced web browser forensics (Chrome, Edge, Firefox)

Who can take the GIAC GCFE certification?

The GIAC GCFE certification program is intended for professionals in information technology, information security, law enforcement, and legal agents with an understanding of digital forensics analysis. 

Here are some examples:

  • Anyone who has an interest in information systems, information security, or computers and would like to gain a deeper understanding of Windows forensics
  • Information security professionals
  • Incident response team members
  • Law enforcement officers, federal agents, and detectives
  • Media exploitation analysts

What are the prerequisites to take the GCFE certification exam?

Simply put, no formal schooling or training is required to take the GIAC GCFE certification exam. However, working professionals who understand information security and computers can be the most suitable individuals for the GCFE certification exam. 

Professionals with limited computer and information security knowledge must find another certification to strengthen their foundational skills, such as an A+ or similar certification course. 

Career opportunity with GCFE certification

Digital forensic analyst

Digital forensic analysts play a crucial role in investigating cybercrime. Digital forensic analysts use their skills and knowledge to collect and analyze evidence from different digital devices. With the GIAC GCFA certification, you'll gain knowledge and skills to work in the field. 

Incident response manager

Incident response managers oversee the response to cyber incidents, such as data breaches and malware attacks within the organization. These professionals coordinate with other team members to contain the incident, mitigate damage, and restore normal operations. 

Security consultant

Security consultants work with organizations to identify vulnerabilities in their IT systems and develop strategies to mitigate them. Security consultants may also train employees on how to protect their personal information. 

Penetration tester

Penetration testing is one of the most lucrative jobs in the information technology field. Many large and small organizations hire penetration testers to test their IT systems and check weaknesses. These professionals attempt to hack into systems in a controlled environment to identify weaknesses cyber attackers exploit. 

Security analyst

Security analysts monitor IT systems for suspicious activity and respond to potential security threats accordingly. They analyze data from various sources to identify patterns and anomalies that could indicate an expensive attack. 

Cybersecurity engineer

Cybersecurity engineers design and implement security standards to protect IT systems from cyberattacks and vulnerability threats. Cybersecurity engineers work closely with other IT pros to protect organizations' security. 

The bottom line

There is no doubt that the GIAC GCFA certification is a highly-regarded certification in the digital forensic field that validates a variety of skills. Also, it opens up many career paths with higher salary packages.

If you want to break into the digital forensic field, the GIAC GCFE certification will give you the foundation to succeed. With the high demand for digital forensic professionals, now is an excellent time to pursue this certification.

On this note, CBT Proxy can help you pass the GCFE exam on your first attempt if you want to earn this certification. To learn more about the exam and how to proceed with us, hit the chat button below.

Keep Reading
What is the GIAC GCFE Certification Exam? An Overview 
What is the GIAC GCFE Certification Exam? An Overview 
The GIAC GCFE certification exam is one of the most significant for anyone looking to enter the digital forensics field.
GIAC Certified Forensic Examiner (GCFE) Certification: What You Will Learn
GIAC Certified Forensic Examiner (GCFE) Certification: What You Will Learn
The GIAC Certified Forensic Examiner (GCFE) certification is vendor-neutral, administered and managed by GIAC.