Pass Any Exam Online Now & Pay After Passing Exam. Contact Now
Chat with us:

CISA vs CRISC: Which Is Better For You?

Mar 15, 20204 mins readAmit Masih
CISA vs CRISC: Which Is Better For You?

Digitalization is taking place quickly, and organizations are dependent on IT systems like never before. Due to this, the number of cybercrimes has increased manifolds.

Hence, companies constantly need to hire skilled talent with internationally-recognized risk management certifications. Several ISACA certifications are available, but here I will compare CISA and CRISC, the two most prestigious certifications.

Earning a globally-recognized credential is every professional’s dream. And when you talk about CISA vs CRISC, it is pretty challenging to say which one is the best. Both open doors to a plethora of job opportunities in India and abroad and help you showcase your expertise in the IT domain. 

Both the certifications are offered by ISACA, an international organization that also provides several other IT certifications. So, if you are confused and have no idea which certificate to go with, then no worries, I am here to help.

Here I have covered several differences between the two certifications, along with essential links to concepts that will streamline your process to get certified.

CISA – Certified Information Systems Auditor

ISACA (Information Systems Audit and Control Association) offers this certification, a global association for IT professionals. It is best suited for IT auditors and security professionals to gain expertise and learn updated skills to enhance their organization's security measures.

You get trained about the vulnerabilities in the IT environment, how to implement control measures to overcome them or reduce the rate of their occurrence, monitor and assess the effectiveness of the applied strategies.

CISA Exam Domains:

  • Information systems auditing process (21%)
  • Governance and Management of IT (17%)
  • Information systems acquisition, development, and implementation (12%)
  • Information systems operations and business resilience (23%)
  • Protection of information assets (27%)

To earn a CISA credential, you must possess a minimum of five years of full-time work experience in controlling, auditing, or securing information systems and have passed the CISA exam. 

The certificate holds a validity of three years, and you are required to fulfil certain conditions to maintain it. You need to earn a minimum of 20 hours of continuing professional education (CPE) credits every year and a total of 120 hours of CPE credits over three years.

It is only an overview of CISA certification. If you want detailed know-how of this internationally acclaimed accreditation, visit the links below:

CISA Certification: The Ultimate Guide CISA Exam Day Dos and Don’ts Best Study Material to Prepare for CISA Exam CISA Professionals Salary Package Mistakes to Avoid 

CRISC – Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control

The CRISC certification is a globally-recognized credential offered by ISACA (Information Systems Audit and Control Association), a global association for IT professionals. It specifically targets the professionals working as IT risk management specialists at the enterprise level. 

It is best suited for IT professionals, project managers, business analysts, business and finance professionals, and compliance professionals. As a certified professional, you must have the expertise to identify possible cyber threats that your company can fall prey to and formulate strategies to reduce their occurrence.

You are also required to supervise the implemented strategies to analyze their effectiveness in protecting your company’s digital assets to maintain its online reputation and smooth business operations. 

CRISC Exam Domains:

  • IT Risk Identification (26%)
  • IT Risk Assessment (20%)
  • Risk Response and reporting (32%)
  • Information technology and security (22%)

To take the CRISC exam, you should have a minimum of three years of work experience in information security risk management in two or more than two of the CRISC job domains.

Also, experience in either domain 1 or 2 is mandatory. You can gain this experience within five years of passing the exam or ten years preceding the application. 

The certificate remains valid for three years from passing the exam. After that, you need to apply for the certification by paying an application fee. Also, you need to pay an annual certification maintenance fee, follow ISACA's continuing education policy, and complete a minimum of 20 contact hours annually and 120 hours over three years. 

I have written a beginner-friendly comprehensive CRISC certification exam guide. You must read it to have an in-depth understanding of the exam. 

The Final Words

Both CISA and CRISC are internationally recognized IT certifications but cater to different domains. So instead of getting confused between CISA vs CRISC, pursue a credential that compliments your work field and boost your career and salary prospects.

If you have audit-related goals, then CISA is the certificate to go with and if you want to showcase your expertise in IT risk management, go with CRISC.

Also, you can go for both certifications as per your expertise and requirements. There are no restrictions that you cannot earn more than one credential.

Keep Reading
CISA vs. CISM: 7 Points That Sets Them Apart
CISA vs. CISM: 7 Points That Sets Them Apart
Are you confused between CISA vs. CISM certification? Do you want to know which one is best for you? Then read the complete article to learn the differences between the two.
CISA vs. CIA: What’s The Difference And Which Is Better For You?
CISA vs. CIA: What’s The Difference And Which Is Better For You?
Are you confused between CISA vs. CIA? Are you not able to select the best option for your auditing career? Read the complete article to clear all your doubts.