Pass Any Exam Online Now & Pay After Passing Exam. Contact Now
Chat with us:
CSA Certification

ServiceNow Certified System Administrator (CSA): Everything You Need to Know

Apr 12, 20235 mins readAmit Masih
ServiceNow Certified System Administrator (CSA): Everything You Need to Know

The ServiceNow System Administrator Certification (CSA) demonstrates that candidates have the skills and knowledge to configure, implement, and maintain ServiceNow systems.

By passing the ServiceNow CSA certification exam, you can continue on the ServiceNow certification path. In order to take advanced courses, you must have this course.

In this article, we will look into everything you need to know about the ServiceNow CSA certification exam. 

What is the ServiceNow CSA certification?

The ServiceNow Certified System Administrator certification demonstrates an individual's skills and knowledge of the ServiceNow platform as a system administrator. The CSA certification validates the skills and knowledge to configure and manage ServiceNow instances, including system administration, user management, data management, and reporting. 

To become a ServiceNow Certified System Administrator, you must pass the ServiceNow Certified System Administrator exam. The CSA certification exam consists of 60 multiple-choice questions with a time limit of 90 minutes. The exam passing score is 70%.

The exam can be taken online or in person at a proctored testing center. By passing this certification exam, you'll also establish the core skills to pursue further certifications. To pass the CSA exam, candidates should have completed the ServiceNow Administration Fundamentals class and at least six months of hands-on ServiceNow experience prior to taking this exam.

CSA exam purpose 

With ServiceNow Certified System Administrator certification, there is no doubt that successfully passing the exam will certify that the candidate has the skills and essential knowledge to contribute successfully to the configuration, implementation, and maintenance of ServiceNow's system. Individuals who want to advance their career in ServiceNow or organizations who need a qualified individual to install and manage the platform may find this certification helpful.

CSA exam audience 

ServiceNow customers, partners, employees, and others interested in becoming ServiceNow Certified System Administrators can take the ServiceNow Certified System Administrator exam.

What is the ServiceNow System Administrator exam pattern?

In the ServiceNow CSA certification exam, the learning objectives are divided into multiple learning domains. The exam consists of about 60 questions. There are multiple options available for each question on the exam, from which the candidate can choose the most accurate option or options. The result is calculated and presented to the candidate as soon as the exam has been completed and submitted.

Below are the exam pattern specifications for Certified ServiceNow Administrator.

  • Exam code - CSA
  • Exam name - Certified ServiceNow System Administrator
  • Exam duration - 90 minutes
  • No. of questions - 60 multiple-choice and multiple-select
  • Passing score — 70% 

ServiceNow Certified System Administrator (CSA) exam syllabus

Here is the table that lists the learning domains and weightings of this exam, along with the percentage of questions in each domain. 

Domain 1: User interface and navigation - 20%

  • ServiceNow Overview
  • Lists and Filters
  • Forms and Templates
  • Branding

Domain 2: Collaboration -20%

  • User Administration
  • Task Management
  • Notifications
  • Reporting

Domain 3: Database Administration - 30%

  • Data Schema
  • CMDB
  • Application/Access Control
  • Import Sets

Domain 4: Self-service and process automation - 20%

  • Knowledge Management
  • Service Catalog
  • Workflows/Flow Designer

Domain 5: Introduction to development - 10%

  • Scripting
  • Migration and Integration
  • Development

What are the prerequisites to take the ServiceNow CSA certification exam?

If you are interested in taking the ServiceNow Administrator test, there are some requirements you should meet.

  • To take the Certified System Administrator exam, candidates must complete the 3-day ServiceNow Fundamentals training or the on-demand course.
  • The candidate must have a solid understanding of database concepts and experience in system administration.
  • Interested candidates should log into developer [dot] service-now [dot] com to access the ServiceNow Personal Developer Instance.
  • Candidates must have a basic understanding of IT Help Desk processes.
  • Additionally, the candidate should have three 3-6 months of experience managing and maintaining ServiceNow instances.

How much do ServiceNow CSA-certified professionals make?

Here is the average salary of ServiceNow System Administrator certified professionals salary, according to PayScale:

  • Software engineer - $92,860
  • Software engineer/developer/programmer - $97,395
  • Technical consultant - $74,897
  • Software developer - $69,854
  • Systems administrator - $75,799
  • Senior technical consultant - $125,098
  • ServiceNow developer - $99,687  

The bottom line

By earning the CSA certification, you demonstrate your dedication to learning more and to professional development. Many online training providers are on the market, helping candidates take the CSA exam. However, choosing the right exam provider is one of the most challenging tasks. 

But don't worry, and you don't have to go it alone! If you want to take the ServiceNow CSA certification exam and are looking for a reliable proxy exam center, look no further! The CBT Procy team is here to help you pass the CSA exam on your first attempt. Sounds interesting? Find out more about the exam by clicking on the chat options below.

Keep Reading
The GIAC GCIA Certification: A Detailed Career Guide
The GIAC GCIA Certification: A Detailed Career Guide
Cybersecurity has come a long way—and for some good reason—it is now one of the most in-demand career paths in the world.
What You Will Learn with the GCIA Certification Program: A Comprehensive Guide
What You Will Learn with the GCIA Certification Program: A Comprehensive Guide
If you are interested in an information security career, the GIAC GCIA certification program will be your most important course. The GCIA certification course is considered the most challenging but also the most rewarding course.