Pass Any Exam Online Now & Pay After Passing Exam. Contact Now
Chat with us:
IIBA CCBA Certification

What is the IIBA CCBA Certification? Everything You Need to Know

Sep 18, 20224 mins readAmit Masih
What is the IIBA CCBA Certification? Everything You Need to Know

What is the IIBA CCBA certification?

IIBA's Certification of Capability in Business Analysis (CCBA) is a highly sought-after certification for business analysis practitioners with a minimum of two to three years of work experience. It gives individuals the knowledge and skills to handle more extensive and complex projects efficiently.

The CCBA exam is open to individuals with ECBA certification, non-BA consultants, product managers, trainees, hybrid business analysis professionals, testers, quality assurance professionals, designers, and transformation managers with sufficient experience.

The exam tests a candidate's knowledge across the competencies outlined in the Business Analysis Body of Knowledge (BABOK Guide). These competencies include business analysis knowledge, business analysis planning, and monitoring, elicitation and collaboration, requirements life cycle management, and requirements analysis and design definition.

What's on the IIBA CCBA certification exam?

The IIBA CCBA exam can be taken online with the supervision of a proctor or at a PSI test center. If you choose to take the exam online, you will need internet access, a location supporting the VoIP protocol, and a computer, webcam, and microphone.

The CCBA exam lasts three hours and consists of 130 scenario-based, multiple-choice questions based on the BABOK Guide. These questions are competency-based and may require some analysis to find the correct answer. The syllabus for the IIBA CCBA exam is weighted across the six BABOK knowledge areas:

  • Business Analysis Planning and Monitoring – 12%
  • Elicitation and Collaboration – 20%
  • Requirements Life Cycle Management – 18%
  • Strategy Analysis – 12%
  • Requirements Analysis and Design Definition – 32%
  • Solution Evaluation – 6%

CCBA certification salary

According to the IIBA's 2021 Global State of Business Analysis Report, the average salary for a business analyst with a CCBA certification is $99,136. The report also indicates that professionals with this certification earn 8% more than their non-certified counterparts.

IIBA CCBA certification eligibility

The IIBA CCBA certification is intended for junior business analysts as an intermediate level of certification. However, IIBA has established specific requirements that candidates must meet to be eligible for the program.

At the time of application, a candidate must fulfill the following criteria:

  • Have at least 3,750 hours of business analysis work experience within the past seven years.
  • A minimum of 900 hours must be completed in two of the six BABOK Guide knowledge areas or 500 hours in four of the six.
  • Candidates must have completed 21 Professional Development (PD) hours within the past four years through one of IIBA's endorsed education providers.
  • Candidates must have a minimum of a high school education or equivalent.
  • Candidates must provide a minimum of two references from a career manager, client, or CBAP-certified professional.
  • Candidates must agree to abide by the IIBA Code of Conduct.
  • Candidates must agree to the IIBA Terms and Conditions.

Target audience

The CCBA certification is intended for professionals in the following fields:

  • Individuals with an ECBA™ designation
  • Product Managers
  • Non-BA consultants
  • Trainers
  • Hybrid Business Analysis professionals, such as Project Managers, Testers, Quality Assurance (QA) professionals, Change/Transformation Managers, and Designers

How much does it cost to take the CCBA certification exam?

To apply for the CCBA exam, candidates must pay a non-refundable, non-transferable application fee and an exam fee, which varies based on the candidate's membership status.

The current application and exam fees for the IIBA CCBA certification are as follows:

  • Application fee – 145 USD
  • Member fee – 250 USD
  • Non-member fee – 405 USD
  • Corporate member fee – 205 USD

IIBA CCBA certification: is it worth it?

If you are a Business Analyst looking to improve your skills and advance your career, obtaining the CCBA certification can help you stand out in a competitive job market.

Business Analysis is a rapidly growing profession, with a 14% growth rate from 2014-2024, according to the US Bureau of Labor Statistics, compared to an average growth rate of 5% for other professions.

By obtaining the CCBA, you can demonstrate your expertise in effectively applying business analysis techniques and delivering business value, making you a valuable asset to organizations.

Keep Reading
What is the IIBA CBDA Certification?
What is the IIBA CBDA Certification?
The IIBA Business Data Analytics Certification is designed to provide professionals with specific practices and techniques for performing advanced business data analysis.
What is the IIBA CCA Certification? Everything You Need to Know
What is the IIBA CCA Certification? Everything You Need to Know
You need to know about the IIBA CCA certification. Learn about its benefits, requirements, and how it can enhance your business analysis career.