Pass Any Exam Online Now & Pay After Passing Exam. Contact Now
Chat with us:

Information Technology Certified Associate (ITCA): A Complete Guide

Jul 10, 20225 mins readAmit Masih
Information Technology Certified Associate (ITCA): A Complete Guide

The Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA) offers the entry-level ITCA (Information Technology Certified Associate) certification to assess an individual's fundamental skills and determine if they would be a valuable addition to an IT team.

While this certification is relatively new, earning it can be challenging and require significant time and financial investment. It is important for IT professionals to carefully consider whether the ITCA is worth pursuing their career goals and needs.

Factors to consider are the level of difficulty and cost of the certification process, the potential benefits of earning the ITCA, and how it compares to other available certifications in the field.

What is the ITCA certification?

The ITCA certification program includes five certificates in different domains, culminating in a final certificate. This program is well-suited for individuals who are just starting in the IT field, have limited or no IT experience, or are looking to acquire a new skill.

The five domains covered in the ITCA certification exam include computing, networks and infrastructure, cybersecurity, software development, and data science fundamentals. By obtaining certification in these areas, IT professionals can gain diverse skills that can be applied to various roles, such as risk management, IT audit, and governance.

The exam questions challenge candidates and test their knowledge and potential. Overall, the ITCA certification is a comprehensive program that can help IT professionals build a strong foundation and equip them with the skills needed to succeed.

What's on the ITCA certification exam?

To earn the ITCA certification and digital badge, candidates must pass the exam for each of the five ITCA Badges. These exams cover a variety of domains, with each badge exam comprising 2-4 domains.

ITCA Badge 1: Computing Fundamentals

Domain 1: Networking, Virtualization, and Security Domain 2: Computing Concepts

ITCA Badge 2: Networks and Infrastructure Fundamentals

Domain 1: Network Architecture and Components Domain 2: Connections and Layers Domain 3: Language of Networking Domain 4: Network Infrastructure

ITCA Badge 3: Cybersecurity Fundamentals

Domain 1: Threat landscape Domain 2: Securing Assets Domain 3: Information Security Fundamentals Domain 4: Security Operations and Response

ITCA Badge 4: Software Development Fundamentals

Domain 1: Software Development Domain 2: Software Development Lifecycle Domain 3: Software Languages

ITCA Badge 5: Data Science Fundamentals

Domain 1: Data Science Concepts Domain 2: Data Management Domain 3: Data Science Process

The ITCA badge exams are designed to assess candidates' knowledge of the relevant IT domain and their ability to perform practical tasks related to that domain.

The exams are structured to include both knowledge-based, typically multiple-choice, and performance-based questions, which require candidates to demonstrate their skills by completing a task or problem.

Each of the five ITCA badge exams is two hours long and covers various topics within the specified domain. To prepare for the exams, candidates should be familiar with the questions they encounter and ensure that they understand the concepts and skills relevant to the tested domain.

How much does the ITCA exam cost?

The cost of the ITCA certification includes the fee for each of the five domain badge exams and any additional membership fees. The fee for the ITCA certification itself is $25, which ISACA pays once all five domain badge exams have been completed.

However, this fee does not include the cost of taking the exams, which is $120 for ISACA members and $150 for non-members. As there are five exams, the total cost for taking all the exams necessary to earn the ITCA certification is $600 for ISACA members and $750 for non-members.

To become an ISACA member, there is an annual fee of $135 and a one-time application fee of $10. Therefore, the overall cost of earning the ITCA certification will depend on whether or not an individual is an ISACA member and how many exams they need to take.

Who should earn the ITCA certification?

The ITCA certification is useful for various individuals, including students studying IT, individuals new to the IT field, and non-IT professionals who want to understand the technology or career better.

This certification can provide a solid foundation of knowledge and skills for those starting in the IT industry or help non-IT professionals gain a deeper understanding of the technology and how it is used in the workplace.

Is the ISACA-ITCA worth it?

The ITCA certification is a valuable way for IT professionals to demonstrate their knowledge and expertise to potential employers. While certifications may involve some cost, they can give employers confidence that an individual is committed to their field, has a strong understanding of relevant concepts and skills, and has some practical experience.

This can make an individual a more attractive candidate for IT positions and help them stand out in the job market. However, it is important to carefully consider the cost and effort involved in obtaining certification and whether it is worth it for an individual's career goals and needs.

Keep Reading
GIAC Certified Incident Handler Certification: Explained
GIAC Certified Incident Handler Certification: Explained
The GIAC Certified Incident Handler (GCIH) certification is a professional credential offered by the Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC).
IAPP CIPM (Certified Information Privacy Manager) Certification: Everything You Need to Know
IAPP CIPM (Certified Information Privacy Manager) Certification: Everything You Need to Know
The IAPP CIPM (Certified Information Privacy Manager) exam is a widely recognized certification demonstrating a person's expertise in managing privacy programs within an organization.