Pass Any Exam Online Now & Pay After Passing Exam. Contact Now
Chat with us:
EC-Council CND

What is the EC-Council CND Certification? A Complete Guide

May 08, 20224 mins readAmit Masih
What is the EC-Council CND Certification? A Complete Guide

The EC-Council Certified Network Defender (CND) certification is a professional-level cybersecurity qualification demonstrating an individual's knowledge and skills in network security.

CND is a highly advanced, vendor-neutral, next-generation network security training certification for IT professionals. It equips candidates with certain networking practices and is the only global certification focusing 100% on network security.

Nowadays, cybersecurity is not limited to cyber teams. Even IT professionals should have a good knowledge of the cybersecurity ecosystem. As a certified professional, you are responsible for detecting cyber threats, protecting your company's digital assets, predicting cyber threats before they occur, and deploying network defense systems.

Suppose you have basic knowledge of networking concepts and work as an IT or network administrator, data analyst, security operator, security analyst, network engineer, and network technician. In that case, this certification can help you progress in your career faster.

To earn the EC-Council CND certification, candidates must pass a comprehensive exam that tests their knowledge and skills in a range of areas, including:

  • Network security principles and concepts
  • Network security technologies and tools
  • Network security management and policy
  • Network security threats and vulnerabilities
  • Network security risk assessment and mitigation
  • Network security incident response

CND Exam Details

Exam Code: 312-38 Number of questions: 100 Interactive Multiple Choice Questions Duration: 4 Hours Passing Score: 70%

Course Outline

Module 01: Network Attacks and Defense Strategies Module 02: Administrative Network Security Module 03: Technical Network Security Module 04: Network Perimeter Security Module 05: Endpoint Security-Windows Systems Module 06: Endpoint Security-Linux Systems Module 07: Endpoint Security- Mobile Devices Module 08: Endpoint Security-IoT Devices Module 09: Administrative Application Security Module 10: Data Security Module 11: Enterprise Virtual Network Security Module 12: Enterprise Cloud Network Security Module 13: Enterprise Wireless Network Security Module 14: Network Traffic Monitoring and Analysis Module 15: Network Logs Monitoring and Analysis Module 16: Incident Response and Forensic Investigations Module 17: Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Module 18: Risk Anticipation with Risk Management Module 19: Threat Assessment with Attack Surface Analysis Module 20: Threat Prediction with Cyber Threat Intelligence

Who should take the CND certification exam?

LinkedIn's 2020 Emerging Jobs Report shows that Network Defender jobs are in high demand — and have been for the last three years! Globally, Network Administrators and Engineers are adding significant value to their jobs and salary by learning critical network security and network defense skills.

The following individuals can consider EC-Council's Network Security Certifications as the next move in their career:

  • Cisco or Microsoft Certified Network Administrator/Engineers
  • Wireshark Certified Network Analyst
  • SolarWinds Certified Professional
  • Juniper Certified Network Professional
  • Professionals with CompTIA's Network+/Security+ Certification
  • University professors who are teaching cybersecurity courses
  • IT professionals planning a career transition
  • Students who wish to start a career in cybersecurity

Job opportunity with CND certification

Individuals who complete the CND v2 cybersecurity course qualify for the following entry-level job roles:

  • Entry-level Network Administrators
  • Entry-level Network Security Administrators
  • Data Security Analyst
  • Junior Network Security Engineer
  • Junior Network Defense Technician
  • Security Analyst
  • Security Operator

Benefits of earning the EC-Council CND certification

There are several benefits to earning the EC-Council Certified Network Defender (CND) certification. Some of the main benefits include:

Demonstrates expertise: The CND certification demonstrates an individual's knowledge and skills in network security. It is a highly respected credential within the cybersecurity industry and can help professionals stand out in a competitive job market.

Enhances career prospects: The CND certification can help professionals advance their careers and increase their earning potential. It is a professional-level qualification recognized by employers and can help professionals qualify for higher-level positions and roles in network security.

Keeps skills up to date: The CND certification requires ongoing professional development to maintain, which helps professionals stay current in their field. This is important in a rapidly changing industry like cybersecurity, where new threats and technologies are constantly emerging.

Improves security posture: The knowledge and skills acquired through the CND certification can help professionals design, implement, and maintain more secure networks. This can help organizations protect themselves from cyber threats and improve their security posture.

Builds credibility: The CND certification is widely recognized and respected within the cybersecurity industry. Earning this credential can help professionals build credibility and establish themselves as experts in their field.

Keep Reading
What is the EC-Council CEH Certification? Explained
What is the EC-Council CEH Certification? Explained
The EC-Council Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) certification is a widely recognized qualification demonstrating an individual's expertise in ethical hacking and penetration testing.
What is the Checkpoint CCSM Certification?
What is the Checkpoint CCSM Certification?
The CheckPoint Certified Security Master (CCSM) certification is a high-level certification offered by CheckPoint, a cybersecurity company.